Daily Prompt: The Clock

Standard

Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, use the sentence, “I heard the card door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

 

0511-1001-2200-5349_Teenage_Girl_Watching_at_a_Clock_with_Worry_clipart_image

LATE DATE

true story

When I was still quite young, I learned the importance of always being on time. My mother was like this, so I suspect that’s where I get it from. This can be good and bad, because those of us who are punctual get rather annoyed at the people who think it’s no big deal.

My first date happened when I was about thirteen, my exact memory is rather foggy, I was a teenager with hormones running like a steam engine. One of the boys who rode the school bus with me asked me out one day, and rather abruptly I might add. “Do you want to go to a show one night?” He was a few years older than me, and at that age it seemed like a big deal. He was in high school! Whoa….

He was kind of a weird guy, but of course I agreed, being awkwardly shy at that age I really didn’t know what else to say. “Sure, ok.” Wow, intelligent response. Saturday night rolled around, I had been ready for hours. I kept pacing up and down the hallway, trying to look natural. My mother must have been a nervous wreck. I casually walked into the kitchen and looked out the window, for the tenth time.  I sat down at the table, and flipped through a magazine…tick tock, tick tock. I heard the card door slam, and immediately looked at the clock. 

He was quite late, and the date turned out to be a disaster. When we got to the movie theatre, we rushed walking to the door. He didn’t want to hold my hand so tugged on my arm to hurry me along, even though he was the one who was late, lol. What a doorknob; needless to say there wasn’t a followup evening out.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

