Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow

Standard

It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love. Bonus points for poetry!

I have been preoccupied the past few days, my mom cracked her ankle and needs surgery. She lives far away from me, which makes me feel even worse. My mind has  not been focused on my posts,  I missed yesterday altogether…. but today is Valentines day and I want to give a shout out to my one and only.

My poetry skills are very rusty, so instead I will just tell you what he means to me.

Each time I look over my shoulder, there you are, with a reassuring smile that says I love you. It warms my heart and soul like nothing else ever has. We talk and laugh, and sometimes cry, but we are always together holding each others hand.

When I was a child, I remember asking the universe for the perfect man, a man as wonderful, kind and loyal as my dad was to my mom. I remember saying the words, not really understanding at the time, what movement I put in motion.

Years flew by, life unfolded this way and that, not always to my liking, but that is the way it goes. I began to wonder if I would find this man in my dreams, but I never lost hope. Always in the back of my mind there you were… just waiting.

One day, the universe said, ” they have learned enough, it’s time”.

IMG_4917

This wonderful man, who peeks at me out of the corner of his eye, always saying, “I love you”.

Today is my day to shout out to the world…..”eat your hearts out girls, he’s taken” :0)

6 responses »

    • Hi Lissa…. thank you! I am still a newbie at this… where do I answer the questions? Do I just do a normal post about it, or..where? and when I choose someone else, where do I post my questions for them? I would really appreciate your help.

      thanks, Marilyn

      • I looked at some of the blogs I was following to see which one’s had less than 200 followers, and chose from those. I just created a post, linked it to the person who nominated me (the post on her blog) and went from there. If you look at my post you’ll see it…And you’re so welcome!!! 😀

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow « Big Bowl Of Thought Soup

Leave a Reply

