Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment : With Chocolate

Standard

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

thinking-bubble-book-clipart

Read it, watch it, do it, this seems to work best for me. I am a very visual person, so just strictly reading about how to do something would be a real challenge for me.

When I was a kid, I used to watch craft shows on TV, and absorbed many great ideas from there. As an adult, I have learned to combine different methods and it works great.

A couple of years ago I thought it would be cool to knit socks, but was a bit intimidated by the complexity of it. The idea stayed with me, and I became somewhat obsessed with learning the process. I have been a knitter for years, but had never tackled socks.

I picked up a knitting booklet, read the instructions about a hundred times, parts of it still didn’t make sense to me. Then I discovered YouTube tutorials, and everything became clear. I combined the two teaching methods and miracles happened, I completed my first sock.

165613_476078440666_1808207_nsock penis 009

Like magic I had learned to do the impossible; a little dramatic? perhaps. It drives me nuts when I want to do something and can’t figure out how to do it, so I found a way, and forged my path to the ranks of sock knitter.

I’m posting the tutorial I watched, this lady was amazing, it was so easy watching her.

 

Learning something new can be fun and challenging at the same time, if you get stressed out, just have a piece of chocolate!

4 responses »

  1. I have always been fascinated with knitting, that people can make things just by twisting yarn together. I think of myself as a visual learner, but for a lot of things I just need to get in there and learn by trial and error. So, if I ever take up knitting, I sure there will be a lot of errors.

Leave a Reply

