Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap

Standard

How do you prefer to read, with an eReader  like a Kindle or Nook, or with an old school paperback in hand?

Interior_Ancient_Library_016920_

I would approach the bookcase slowly, with wonderment; reaching out, gently caressing them as I walk up and down the rows. Stopping here and there to examine the older ones a little more closely. They have a smell about them, like nothing else. Old paper and leather, an aromatic scent only a book lover can enjoy.

Enjoying my eReader, sitting on this sofa? I don’t think so.

 To me, books are far more than the written word, they are pieces of art I can touch, smell, and connect with. I love being able to feel the book, look at it, especially if it has an eye-catching design on the cover.

As much as I love the idea of modern conveniences, such as an eReader, I just don’t like using them. I’ve tried; paid the money, downloaded the book, read a few pages and quit. Regretting that I hadn’t paid the extra and purchased the real thing.

Being able to access hundreds, thousands of books, without having to physically search for them, amazing. The modern world makes reading a book, effortless, and boring.

They certainly have their place in this modern world, but I won’t be curling up with one any time soon.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

