Daily Prompt: Burning Down the House

Standard

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

imagesCAI7ELXO

What a scary thought, makes me cringe thinking about it.

Only five items? Bummer, I guess that’s all a person can grab anyway, panic does weird things to most of us.

  1. The first thing would be a suitcase I keep in the bedroom, it is filled with photos of my kids when they were young. They are not on digital, so once they are gone that’s it.
  2. My “go bag” I keep in the closet. It has my passport and other essentials.
  3. My external hard drive, hopefully I won’t screw it up too bad when I yank the cords out.
  4. My purse, which has my phone and wallet. ID is such a pain in the butt to replace.
  5. The small rock that says “Home Sweet Home”, my husband gave it to me the first day we met.

My mind would be racing with thoughts of all the other things I wouldn’t have time to take. All my art work that I have done over the years, one of a kind pieces that are irreplaceable. Not being able to take any of that would break my heart.

I am very sentimental, leaving behind things like this would be gut wrenching. They would be gone forever, all this would be running through my mind as I’m grabbing those five items.

What I find interesting about this exercise is that it has forced me to look around and prioritize what I would, or should be taking. Also what is fascinating, is that I keep four of these items within arms reach of where I sit at my computer.

It’s almost like I am subconsciously prepping for disaster.

In reality, I would take these five items, but also throw in whatever else would fit into my go bag, because once it’s gone , it’s gone.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Burnt – All That Remains | Stuphblog

Leave a Reply

