Daily Prompt: Ode to a Playground

Standard

A place from your past or childhood, one that you’re fond of, is destroyed. Write it a memorial.

I guess the first thing that comes to mind is the school I went to when I was a kid. It’s in the small town my mom still lives in. Back in the sixties, the school was fully functional, with a large gymnasium in the basement, and five or six classrooms.

This school was a big part of my life for many years, I find it very sad that is no longer a part of the community. I think about it quite often, and how important it used to be to the surrounding area.

Rehearsing for Christmas concerts, being excited about Halloween, or just having fun on the playground at recess.

The last year the school was open was 1998, it must have been very sad for the town to shut it down.

school7

The school district made the decision to close the school, their reason being, there were not enough kids in the small town to make it worth while.  This must have been a very sad day for everyone.

When I go back to visit my mom I drive by the school, and wonder why people didn’t make the effort to take care of the building. The person who purchased it, used it for storage, and has let it become so run down it can no longer be repaired. Windows are broken, there is water in the classrooms, the roof is caving in.

I have no photos of the destruction, sometimes I wish I did, but I think I have done this on purpose because it makes me too sad, and it would be a reminder it has been destroyed.

One other photo I do have is a graduating class from a happier time, they had years ahead of them, and so did the school.

tkJP34.jpg.opt390x252o0,0s390x252

Have a great day everyone, and don’t forget to take care of the past.

One response »

Leave a Reply

