Writing Challenge: the Devil is in the Details

Standard
Writing Challenge: the Devil is in the Details

Your challenge this week is to practice your powers of observation. Take any person, place, or event, and write three paragraphs describing your subject in great detail.

The powers of observation, isn’t this what spies are supposed to be good at?

Nothing quite so dramatic going on here, but I do have occasional thoughts of wearing an invisibility cloak, and seeing what mischief I can get into.

If you were to peek into my world and catch a glimpse of me writing, you would likely think it is a messy and chaotic scene, with a bit of whimsy thrown in for good measure.

I have always been the type of person who enjoys being surrounded by mementos, and odd ball items that take me back to a different moment in time. Everything I see gives me energy; I see snippets of information, and pictures of moments gone by. For me, it is like my mind is the main frame that never shuts down, so it’s always a challenge to filter out what I want to write about.

me puter 2 002At times I seem to be easily distracted, perhaps it’s my own undoing, given my random surroundings, but it is me. To my right on the desk is a photo of Prince Paul and I on our wedding day, it is a constant reminder that I am loved for who I am.

cookies and desk 003

To my left is my friend Charlie Brown, a jar with random crap, including an old railroad spike. I told you I was random, and the rock that says Home Sweet Home, which hubby gave to me on our first date. I remember watching Chuck Brown as a kid, and fell in love with him. My childhood was a good one, I like thinking about it.

writing challenge 003

The desk I sit at is quite large, the shelf above my head also has a collection going on, including the old Sunbeam mixer my favorite granny used. I look up at it and think about her, and the things she used to make. I wish I could go back in time and watch her. She was a tiny woman who loved her grand kids.

Untitled 1

Molly was quite the character.

The old mixer still runs, but has seen better days.

The old mixer still runs, but has seen better days.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My desk sits in the dining room, we live in a two bedroom condo, so space is limited. To the far left I look at the book-case. Home organizers would have a heart attack trying to help me out. :0)

writing challenge 006Behind me is the kitchen, I can hear the refrigerator humming and making way too much noise, but the distraction it makes is still no match for the chocolate cookies I made this afternoon. They keep calling to me, and I’ve had way too many. Dark chocolate, gluten-free, very, very tasty. If you’d like the recipe let me know.

cookies and desk 004

Well, I guess I cheated because I added photos, and did more than three paragraphs. Maybe I’m just not cut out for the espionage thing.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

