Daily Prompt: Breaking The Law

Standard

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

Well, this is really opening up a can of worms isn’t it.

Many of us do little things here and there without realizing we’re loosing karma points, but the big stuff, now that’s something else.

There have been moments in my life where I did not make the smartest decision, this laced with the “I can do anything attitude and it doesn’t matter” sort of thing.

When I was sixteen I used to chum around with my sister and one of her friends. I was the only one with a drivers licence, so it became apparent I would be the chauffeur on our outings.

One evening we had the bright idea it would be fun to have the highway sign that had our towns name on it. It should be easy, just wiggle it loose and throw it in the back of the van. My sister’s friend came up with the idea, she was wild and crazy, and I thought participating would be a rush.

I stopped the vehicle as close to the sign as possible, all the while we are looking around for someone else coming down the road, or wondering if the neighbors would see us.

We began to push on the sign, back and forth, trying to lift it, until we realized it was buried in the ground about six feet! Panic set in, this was not going to be a quick job, we were so afraid someone was going to see us.

After what seemed like an eternity, the sign came out and we shoved it in the back of the van, then the back door wouldn’t close because it was too long, good grief.

We sped away in a frenzy, not knowing what we would do with it, now that we had it. Stupid teenagers, what can I say. The size of the sign made it impossible to keep, so we left it by the side of the road so someone would find it.

I still think about this and wonder… really?

Unless of course I am speeding to the thrift store for half price day!

11954221821138511001gerald_g_girl_driving_car_cartoon-svg-hi

Have a great day everyone.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Breaking the Law/ A Stolen Goddess « Big Bowl Of Thought Soup

  2. This cracked me up! I say, you must have been persistant, those things are darn near anchored down with a ton of concrete! They are designed to be theft proof. The best part was the tell tale sign of teenage thinking when you finally got what you wanted and then didn’t know what to do with it. Thanks for being willing to open your can of worms and share; I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Stuphblog

Leave a Reply

