Midnight Madness

Standard

It’s amazing what sleep deprivation can do to a person’s perspective on the ordinary.

When I have trouble sleeping I will quite often read various blogs, watch youtube tutorials and cruise the web for an interesting tidbit.  Last night I thought I would step out of my normal zone and watch a couple videos on organizing a closet.

Never in my life did I think people went to such lengths to be able to find stuff easily. I learned how to fold a t-shirt.. yes really, I didn’t think it was that complicated, but apparently there is a right way and a wrong way. Stuffing it into the drawer, my way, is definatly frowned upon. “If it is folded correctly it will stand up like a book”, and she demonstrates that it really does work. Amazing. Her drawer looked like nothing I’ve ever seen, including all the tops being color blocked. Wow…. I had no idea real people did this.

The really funny part about watching this was that I was actually learning something, even though my own life is not organized enough to try it more than once, just for fun.

I’m not mocking people who do this, quite the opposite, I admire anyone who is organized enough to do it, and keep it up on a regular basis. But I have to ask myself…REALLY??

I began to realize this would never work for me when she demonstrated how to fold a thong. I didn’t know there was a wrong way to fold dental floss, especially when it’s not big enough to have a wrinkle. I was giggling with the thought of taking the time to do this.

The two young ladies I watched were very serious about teaching this, absolutly charming, their enthusiasm reminding me that, it’s just not what we teach, but that we have a passion for it.

To all of you out there who teach, and do it well, I applaud you.

4 responses »

  1. Brilliant post. Really made me smile. I suffer from insomnia and hadn’t considered such things as thong-folding lessons as a remedy; no more wrangling in the duvet, will look up ironing tights and perfect-sock-pairing next time! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award- More Wonderful People « Mindful Splatter

Leave a Reply

