Daily Prompt: The Early Years

Standard

My oldest sister apparently thought I was similar to a doll, she seems to be having a great time holding me up, while my brother looks like the perfect gentleman.

DSC_030117

DSC_999338

My first year was crowned by an incredible homemade birthday cake made by my mom, I really don’t remember that day, but by the look on my face I’d say it was a good one.

DSC_031554

I enjoyed quiet times with my big brother, not sure why we were sitting on the kitchen table. 🙂 He was probably telling me about the latest mischief he got into that he didn’t want mom to know about. When I was about six years old he and I thought it would be a good idea to have a rock fight in the basement. The floor was still dirt and rocks, before dad put a concrete pad down. At some point during the dule I sat up when I should have ducked and took a rock in the head. Mom took care of the damage and my brother hid the whole day for fear of what would happen, lol

DSC_003224

My days were always filed with cats, plenty of them. I’m the little blonde in the middle. My dad used to tell my youngest sister and I we had cats for breakfast. As soon as we woke in the morning  we would go out to the barn and play for hours.

DSC_003555

The all important weiner roast was a special time for us, I can clearly remember going on many of them. My mom always baked homemade hot dog buns, and we always had a big mason jar with orange Freshie and one with grape. Freshie was a Canadian drink mix that was a popular alternative to Kool-Aid, from the 1950’s to the early 1980’s. My dad and I were the only ones who loved out hotdogs roasted until they were black, and with mustared of course.

DSC_031883

Growing up on the farm was the best place for a kid to be. There was never a shortage of fun things to do, and plenty of space to explore. My dad was a farmer his whole life, and loved it each and every day.

I can remember picking handfulls of beautiful, yellow dandelions for my mother. I would walk up to the house holding them behind my back, hoping to surprise her. Many years later she would tell me she always knew what I was holding, but never spoiled my surprise.

DSC_0098812

This is one of my favorite photos from the early years, we had gone on a drive with mom and dad, and as usual he never passed up a photo oppertunity.

My wish would be, that every kid has as many warm memories as I do.

Leave a Reply

